Consultant, site maintained by Lehigh Valley Planning Commission

Pen Argyl Carousel


Slate Belt communities have a rich history dating back more than 250 years, but for the first time ever 10 municipalities are partnering to build a bright future.


The purpose of the Slate Belt Multi-Municipal Comprehensive Plan is to enable the boroughs of Bangor, East Bangor, Pen Argyl, Roseto, Portland and Wind Gap and the Townships of Plainfield, Washington, Lower Mount Bethel and Upper Mount Bethel, to shape their collective vision for the future. Each municipality has prepared its own comprehensive plan in the past and will keep their autonomy and control but planning as a region enables them to take advantage of geographic similarities and address their common priorities, while better managing an evolving development landscape.


The Plan Draft on the Home page is the result of three years of work by representatives and stakeholders of each community to create the first Slate Belt Multi-Municipal Plan.